Posted by: Heather | October 18, 2008

Cross it Off the Bucket List

When I was 15 years old, planning my future and determined to be on the CEO track, I was told in a Junior Achievement course that if you want to succeed, you have to have goals.  All you have to do is write down the list of things you want to accomplish and set off to achieve them, right?  Wrong.  There’s a formula to follow supposedly.  I don’t remember all of the steps or what the acronym was to remember the steps, but I do know that they have to be achievable and measurable.  I had more insight back then than I realize.  On this old tattered list was not just a list of things to accomplish personally, but also a list of things I’ve always wanted to experience.  You could equate this list to my “bucket list”.  Some of the goals included: getting featured/published in a magazine for positive reasons, becoming the CEO of a company, graduating from business school, getting hired to photograph someone famous, buying my own car, and having $100,000 in the bank.  Then, if you read down the list, I started adding those things I wanted to experience like: climbing to base camp at Mount Everest, seeing the Great Wall of China, skydiving, and taking a hot air balloon ride.  Cross another one off the list!

Ted and I have been discussing our bucket lists recently.  Since we will be resuming our trip around the world soon, why not start knocking out the rest of the list?   Thanks to Steve Lombardi and REMAX, Ted and I got to crew for the REMAX hot air balloon at the Plano Balloon Festival and I got my first hot air balloon ride.

Kudos to Christian Sculpher at Christian Sculpher Photography for taking this photograph of me.  Ted and I had accidentally locked our keys AND MY CAMERA in the car that morning and would have had no way otherwise to document the big event.

Responses

  1. Hi Heather and Ted,

    Heather – glad to hear you are back to 100% and you are both resuming your ‘Amazing Trip of a lifetime’. I have certainly missed reading your blog.

    In regards to goals – I think you mean you goals need to be SMART – specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and timely (think I have that right?!).

    Look forward to hearing more of your news if it happens.

    Jo and James

  2. So I got the being paid to photograph someone famous! I got to shoot miley cyrus, in concert. 🙂 It twas a blast. sounds like you are having quite the wild ride.


Leave a Reply

Categories

